Allow Me to (re)Introduce Myself

bashos-trail

“Each day is a journey, and the journey itself home.” – Basho

To begin, a confession of sorts: Despite the scarcity of posts, this blog isn’t totally new.

I first set the site up and started posting here a couple of years ago. I’ve managed to periodically return to share the occasional photo, quote, or rambling discourse as the mood struck. But the results – although not always dissatisfying, by any means – have proven to be rather haphazard and, to my mind, somewhat disjointed.

I find myself here now at the threshold of a new year, once again starting over, once again trying to regain my “beginner’s mind” and find a rhythm, rhyme, form, and focus that works in this space and that will allow me to try and put something true into words (which, if I’m especially lucky, might even hold together and make a scrap of sense).

And so, for the occasion, I’ve swept the slate clean, archiving old items and starting afresh.

I might pull some of the old posts off the shelf, polish them up a bit, and share them again in the weeks or months to come. That seems like my prerogative. But I didn’t want to feel tied to them, and so I’ve removed them, as it were, from the display case, for now at least.

If you’ve visited this space in the past and an old post has since vanished, I hope you’ll forgive me the caprice. But, whether you’ve been here before or not, welcome. I’m honored that you’ve taken the time to stop by.

Anyone else in the mood for new beginnings?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Allow Me to (re)Introduce Myself

  1. Pingback: ‘Turning and turning in the widening gyre’: Truth and Consequences in Blogging | The Ubiquitous Burrito

  2. Pingback: ‘Turning and turning in the widening gyre’: On Truth and Consequences in Blogging | The Ubiquitous Burrito

  3. Pingback: Champions of the Commonplace, or, “Call Your Mom and Tell Her You Love Her!” | The Ubiquitous Burrito

Leave a Reply

